Day 24 – Apples and Homemade Almond Butter

Today’s lunch is more like a variety of snacks, but that’s okay.  It’s still a well rounded meal that will keep his belly full until after school.

A reader asked me the other day what I do to keep my apples from browning.  The answer is REALLY simple – I do nothing.  I know there are all sorts of different things listed online you can try to help stop the browning, but personally, I think it just depends on the apple variety.  We LOVE red delicious apples, but they turn brown almost immediately.  You can try citrus or vinegar or whatever, but a red delicious will still turn brown no matter what.  So, if I’m putting an apple in M’s lunchbox, he gets a gala.  In my experience, gala apples don’t brown very much. I have even found the stray apple slice or two in his lunchbox at the end of the day that didn’t get eaten at lunch and they still look pretty good.  So, there’s your tip of the day…gala apples in the lunchbox!  Does anyone else know of any apple varieties that don’t brown?

Today, M’s getting a gala apple with homemade almond butter, graham crackers (also great dipped in the almond butter), cucumbers and carrots.

And might I just say – OMG, homemade almond butter…To. Die. For!!!  I made it for the first time the other day because I was out of ALL nut butters (CRAZY…I usually have 2-3 jars at any given time in my pantry/fridge). I needed some nut butter (cause I was making some kind of sweet treat if I remember correctly) and I had some raw almonds just sitting in my pantry waiting to be used.  I threw about 2 cups of raw almonds into my food processor and let it do its thing for about 10 minutes.  I had to stop and scrape down the sides frequently, but it came out perfect!!!  So, creamy and soooooo much better than store bought.  I generally buy the kind of almond butter that is made of just raw almonds, so I’m not sure what the difference was, but straight off the spoon, I felt like I was eating the most decadent dessert.  Heaven! I stored the leftovers in a mason jar in the fridge.

Anyway, back to today’s lunch.  Here it is. I’m not sure how I mangled those graham crackers so badly….they even had perforations.  Oh well.

Apples and Homemade Almond Butter

 

Gala Apple Slices, Homemade Almond Butter, Honey Graham Crackers, Cucumber Slices, Carrot Sticks

2 thoughts on “Day 24 – Apples and Homemade Almond Butter

  1. Honey Crisp apples also hold up really well. My son takes an apple in his lunch every day and we use the honey crisp a lot. I don’t do anything to them, but I do put them near an ice pack in the lunch box.

    Like

Leave a Reply

