Day 48 – Halloween Mozzarella

These cute little Halloween mozzarella slices came about at the very last minute.  M asked for leftover roasted potatoes and green beans from dinner last night.  I added in a pickle (in parchment paper) and then was at a loss for what to put in the 4th area.  I wanted something with a little more protein, but didn’t want to do a sandwich since the potatoes are fairly hearty.  I had exactly 2 slices of cheese left in the fridge drawer.  First, I tried to roll them and stick them in there side by side….but the space is too big and they came unrolled immediately.  So, then I just threw them in there flat and was going to call it a day when I saw the Halloween cookie cutters (that I got at Target on clearance after Halloween last year for literally like a dollar for 7 of them) out of the corner of my eye.  Voila!  Halloween mozzarella that is sure to make all the kids giggle.

IMG_2970

My kids absolutely love these potatoes, so I’m sharing the recipe with you today. Enjoy!

Perfect Roasted Potatoes – serves 4-6

Ingredients:

3 large baking potatoes, scrubbed and/or peeled and cut into bite size chunks

1 tsp extra virgin olive oil

1/2 tsp Salt

1/8 tsp Pepper

1 tbsp Dried Parsley

1 tsp Smoked Paprika

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp Tumeric

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.  Toss all ingredients in a medium bowl and mix thoroughly so each potato is covered in the spices/herbs.  Spread the potatoes in one even layer on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake for 20 minutes, turn potatoes over (or just mix them around…doesn’t have to be perfect) and bake another 20 minutes.  Serve warm

**All spice/herb measurements are approximate.  I don’t measure anything when I make these.  I’m sure they are just a bit different every time, but they are also perfect every time.

One thought on “Day 48 – Halloween Mozzarella

Leave a Reply

